Achewon Nimat Lodge 282

Order of the Arrow

San Francisco Bay Area Council #28

Copyright © 2006-2017 Achewon Nimat Lodge 282, San Francisco Bay Area Council, Boy Scouts of America, All Rights Reserved

1001 Davis Street, San Leandro, CA  94577-1514, (510) 577-9000  |  Site Map  |  Site Info and Policies  |  Contact Webmaster

Distinguished Service Award Recipients

The Distinguished Service Award (DSA) is the highest honor that the National Order of the Arrow can bestow upon its members.  Established by the National Order of the Arrow committee in 1940, the DSA is presented to Arrowmen who have rendered distinguished and outstanding service to the Order on a sectional, regional, or national basis.  The first two recipients of the award were E. Urner Goodman and Carroll A. Edson, the founders of the Order of the Arrow.

The award consists of a sterling silver arrowhead pointing upwards and suspended from a white ribbon that is embroidered with red arrows.  Along with the ribbon, a corresponding Scouters square knot (a white square on a red background) is also presented.

Between 1940 and 2009, 2 members of the Royaneh Lodge and 7 members of Achewon Nimat Lodge have been awarded the Distinguished Service Award.  Nationwide less than 900 Arrowmen have been awarded the DSA.  Below is the list of DSA recipients that have received the award in our Lodges.

Twitter for Achewon Nimat Lodge YouTube for Achewon Nimat Lodge Facebook for Achewon Nimat Lodge

*  This individual is also a recipient of the Silver Beaver award

# This individual is also a recipient of the Silver Beaver (1945), the Silver Antelope (1949) and the the Silver Buffalo (1950) as well as being the National President of the Boy Scouts of America from 1956 to 1959